Tuesday , September 25 2018
Latest News
Home / Latest news / PML-Q will oppose elections sans reforms : Ch Shujaat Hussain

PML-Q will oppose elections sans reforms : Ch Shujaat Hussain

Lahore : PML-Q President  Ch Shujaat Hussain has said that if elections are to be held after Supreme Court verdict in Panama case then we will oppose elections sans reforms, first reforms be made and then elections be held and all parties should agree on these reforms.

He said this addressing local bodies representatives at his residence here today (Saturday). On this occasion former federal minister Ch Wajahat Hussain, Shafay Hussain, Hussain Elahi, Abdullah Yousuf Warraich and Saadat Nawaz Ajnala were also present.

Ch Shujat Hussain said that Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaaf chief Imran Khan has given some suggestions but real thing is that in the present set up of the Election Commission majority will take the decision and the Chief Election Commissioner has no status as such, if majority of the Commission members decide in favour of loser candidate then winning candidate will be defeated and the real matter will again start from there that nobody will accept the result.

He said endorsement of all parties be secured regarding electoral reforms and then elections be held.

Ch Shujaat Hussain further said that Ishaq Dar and Zahid Hamid have said in an interview that the Electoral Reforms Committee has so far held 100 meetings but these meetings have been kept so secret as nuclear reforms are being made and not the electoral reforms. He emphatically said that proceedings of all these meetings be made public so that the people know as to what has happened.

Local bodies representatives present in the meeting hailed from Union Council Marri Khokhar of Gujrat and adjoining areas and they included former Nazim Malik Muhammad Naeem, Ch Jahangir Mazhar, Syed Shehzadey Shah, Councilor Malik Ilyas, Malik Arshad, Raja Muhammad Riaz Bhatti, Malik Faisal Yousuf, Malik Shehram Younus, Mir Abbas Shah, Dr Javed Mirza, Ch Zafar Mehdi, Dr Asif, Haji Shareef, Amir Shehzad, Ch Zulfiqar Fauji, Mehr Qaiser, Mehr Yasir, Malik Ehtesham, Afzal Chaudhry and other leaders.

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top