Saturday , December 15 2018
Latest News
Home / Latest news / Multan Zone clinch the 7th Army Cricket Championship-2016

Multan Zone clinch the 7th Army Cricket Championship-2016

the-7th-army-cricket-championship-2016Lahore : Magnificent bowling by fast bowler Khadim Jaan helped Multan Zone to beat Karachi Zone by 155 runs to clinch the 7th Army Cricket Championship-2016 at the Battle Axe Stadium here on Thursday. Khadim took 5 wickets for 36 runs and played a decisive role in his team to defend its title.

Chasing a target of 277, Karachi Zone were bundled out for 121 runs in the 43rd over. Only Sabir Hussain (23) and Shan Ali (22) showed some resistance. Afsar Ali remained not out at 18. Earlier batting first Mikdad Hussain (85), Nasir Yasreeb (50) and Naveed (39) enabled Multan Zone to finish at 276-9 in the 50 overs. Mikdad hit six fours and two sixes in his 81 ball innings. Nasir smashed 8 fours and a six in his 63 ball innings. Naveed’s 31 ball innings thrilled the spectators amid his 3 towering sixes and two hits across the ropes. Muzaffar Iqbal was the most successful bowler who ended with 3-38. Shahid Khan and Abdul Majid claimed two wickets for 62 and 53 runs respectively. Mikdad was declared Man of the Final.

At close Corps Commander Lahore Lt-General Sadiq Ali gave away the winning trophy to Multan Zone captain Umar Farooq. Man of the Final award was given to Major General Fida Hussain Malik, General Officer Commander, gave away prizes to the best players of the Championship. Lance Naik Shahid of Karachi Zone was declared best batsman of the Championship with his 262 runs at 52.40. Sepoy Qasim Mehmood of Multan Zone took 21 wickets at 11.76 was declared best bowler of the Championship. He also got the Player of Championship award for his excellent performance throughout the Event. Sepoy Muhammad Imran of Bahawalpur Zone was declared the best all-rounder of the Event. Naik Tauseef of Rawalpindi Zone was declared Emerging Player of the Championship.

Speaking on the occasion Lt-General Sadiq said that sports has taught us discipline and the wining spirit. “I am glad that both finalist teams played with the same spirit and provided entertaining cricket”, he said. Lt-Gen sadiq congratulated the Multan Zone team for winning the Championship.

Summarized Score: Multan Zone: 276 for 9. (50 Overs). Mikdad 81, Nasir 50, Naveed 31. Muzaffar Iqbal 3-38, Abdul Majid 2-53, Shahid Ali 2-62. Karachi Zone: 121. (42.5 overs). Sabir Hussain (23), Shan Ali (22), Afsar Ali 18 not out. Khadim Jann 5-36.

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top