Wednesday , June 19 2019
Latest News
Home / Education / Old Ravians elect new executive committee

Old Ravians elect new executive committee

Kamran LashariLahore: Old Ravians Sunday elected their new executive committee for a period of two years after closely contested elections at the Government College University, Lahore on the seats of Vice President, General Secretary, Treasurer and executive members.  However, Walled City Authority Director General Kamran Lashari was already elected the president of Old Ravians Union (ORU) unopposed as all the other candidates for the post withdrew their nomination papers in favor of the senior bureaucrat.

According to the results announced by the Old Ravians Union Election Committee comprising District and Sessions Judge Haroon Latif Khan, Advocate Ch Tanvir Ahmed and GCU Political Science Department Chairperson Dr Khalid Manzoor Butt, Lahore High Court Bar Association Secretary Advocate Mian Muhammad Ahmad Chhachhar won the seat of General Secretary, Old Ravians Union by defeating Faisal Nazeer Ahmad Dar. Syed Tayyab Hussain Rizvi was elected Vice President while Mahmmod Saeed won elections on the seat of treasurer. Dr Mahmood Rashid Sheikh, Naeem Tahir, Kazi Afaq Hossain, Asjad Ghani Tahir, Faiq Sadiq, Bilal Ahmad Wahla and Dr Abdul Basit were elected executive members, ORU.

Vice Chancellor Prof Dr Muhammad Khaleeq-ur-Rahman congratulated the winners on their election as representatives of one of the most prestigious community of the country, saying that they should actively contribute to the university’s initiatives for the welfare of deserving students.

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top