Saturday , December 16 2017
Latest News
Home / Latest news / Dean Elgar to face inquiry after hitting the stump with his bat

Dean Elgar to face inquiry after hitting the stump with his bat

South Africa’s Dean ElgarLahore: South Africa’s Dean Elgar has been reprimanded after pleading guilty to a Level 1 breach of the ICC Code of Conduct during the fourth day’s play in the one-off Test against Zimbabwe in Harare on Tuesday.

Elgar was found to have breached Article 2.1.2 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to “Abuse of cricket equipment or clothing, ground equipment or fixtures and fittings during an International Match.” 

The charge related to an incident in the 10th over of South Africa’s second innings, when Elgar, after being bowled, hit a stump with his bat.
The charge was brought by on-field umpires Aleem Dar and Chris Gaffaney, third umpire Jeremiah Matibiri and fourth umpire Owen Chirombe.
The batsman admitted the offence and accepted the sanction proposed by Roshan Mahanama of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees. As such, there was no need for a formal hearing.
All Level 1 breaches carry a minimum penalty of an official reprimand and a maximum penalty of 50 per cent of a player’s match fee.

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top